Quantcast

Ataxia Support

Machado Joseph disease

I am a veteran who has been diagnosed with Machado Joseph disease, I feel that by attempting to stay in shape and keep on going has been what has been helping me through this. I do have my bad days though and try to realize what makes my days bad. I have found that when I'm stressed or tired it makes for a difficult day. Also found that the use of tobacco makes symptoms worse as well, from time to time I like to have a beer which too affects me to only limit myself to 1 or 2 anything more than that well I can't walk. However I do have a cane, a walker, and a scooter which I do use a lot lately, my scooter I use when I am going to be on my feet a lot, cane is used for little in and outs and, walker is used for in homes and at Dr. office. I started studies at UCSF but have moved I would like to know if any one has had any luck with any kind of treatment. I also am medically retired do to this disease its very difficult because I know what to expect, I watched my grandfather pass away and my mother pass away from this disease, and I half to be honest it sucks but I keep going forward I have 4 kids and they're all in there 20's none of them showing signs but I just half to stay strong, that way if one of them have it they too could get through this and know that they still can have fun.

Hi!

I have MJD too - diagnosed about a year ago based on family history and neurological exam, (no bloodwork). I'm still working and driving and I can walk unassisted but I'm very wobbly and veer off into walls and furniture frequently.

My grandmother had it, too, but that was before there were any tests. And because 2 of her 4 children (including my Dad) died young before they could have shown symptoms, I never knew that he would have had it. His other 2 surviving brothers had it, and lots of their chidren and grandchildren too.